Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis

Category: Event Calendar

  • Wednesday, Apr 7, 2021 8 p.m.

Open Website

The Democracy! Suite

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis takes the virtual stage on Wednesday, April 7, at 8 p.m. with a free viewing of The Democracy! Suite.  Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz’s finest soloists, the concert’s unique repertoire celebrates jazz’s embodiment of freedom and democracy.

The Democracy! Suite is a new Marsalis composition written during the ongoing COVID-19 crisis as a response to the political, social, and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy! Suite is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future.

This concert was filmed on September 27, 2020 at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in accordance with the New York State Department of Health Interim Guidance on Media Production during the COVID-19 Emergency.

Marsalis, a nine-time GRAMMY Award winner, is a trumpeter, composer and music educator as well as the artistic director of the JLCO. In addition to Marsalis, the septet features Elliot Mason, trombone, Ted Nash, alto saxophone and flute, Walter Blanding, tenor and soprano saxophones, Dan Nimmer, piano, Carlos Henriquez, bass, and Obed Calvaire, drums.

Part of The University of Akron’s Kulas Concert Series, with support from UA’s Office of Inclusion and Equity. Watch for free at www.uakron.edu/music.  330-972-8301, concerts@uakron.edu.