Totally Radical: Art and Politics in the 1980s

Category: Event Calendar

  • Thursday, Apr 22, 2021 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Apr 23, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, Apr 24, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, Apr 29, 2021 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Apr 30, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 1, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 6, 2021 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Friday, May 7, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 8, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 13, 2021 11 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Friday, May 14, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 15, 2021 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • + 54 more

Open Website

From the AIDS crisis to the intensifying feminist movement, ongoing calls for racial justice, struggles between corporate profit and union labor, growing concerns about human impacts on the natural environment, and the tense climax of the Cold War with the Soviet Union, the 1980s proved to be a dense and dramatic period in American history. Many artists responded with a new sense of urgency and created works that are directly and unapologetically political

Drawn entirely from the Akron Art Museum’s permanent collection, the works of art in Totally Radical span the decade’s flashpoints. They show artists adopting techniques from advertising, bringing previously unseen images to light, and pushing photography in new directions, all to get their points across. Ultimately, these artists did not merely wish to make themselves and their communities more visible. Instead, they hoped that their work would share vital and even deeply personal concerns with the public. They insisted that their voices should be heard. As art museums and American society as a whole seek broader conversations about justice and equity in the present, we can look back and learn from their example.

Totally Radical is presented alongside Totally Rad: Bold Color in the 1980s.

Totally Radical is organized by the Akron Art Museum and supported by funding from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the Ohio Arts Council, the John P. Murphy Foundation, Katie and Mark Smucker, and the Kenneth L. Calhoun Charitable Trust, KeyBank, Trustee.