Release Date: April 28,2021

Thirty-First Annual Harold K. Stubbs Awards Dinner to Take Place Virtually Friday, April 30

Akron, Ohio, April 28, 2021 – The Harold K. Stubbs Scholarship Committee will virtually award its 2021 scholarships on April 30.

Receiving the full scholarship to Kent State University is Miranda L. Honaker, from John R. Buchtel HS CLC. 

Recipients of the partial scholarships are: 

  • Brendan A. Chapman-Thomas | Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Jeremy N. Dang | Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Reagan G. Dudones | Ellet HS CLC
  • Julian F. Grimes | John R. Buchtel HS CLC
  • Trayonna J. James | John R. Buchtel HS CLC
  • William L. Leach | Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Sativa’ M. Neal | East HS CLC
  • Myiah E. Webb | St Vincent St Mary HS

“The competition for our scholarships increases every year. The 2021 winners are very deserving and we are happy to help them pursue their higher education goals,” said Reneé Greene, scholarship chairwoman.

For the last 31 years, the Harold K Stubbs scholarship program has provided 8 or 9 scholarships every year to quality students for whom higher education is almost out of reach.  Since its inception, this program has awarded over $3 million in educational aid.

“While COVID stopped many activities last year, it did not stop students’ financial need. We are pleased that we can continue to award our scholarships” said Attorney Charles L. Greene, general chairperson for the Harold K. Stubbs committee.

The committee also recognized the following 2020 community service awardees:

  • Bruce D. Alexander, | Social Services
  • Christopher T. Williams, Ph.D. | Education
  • Donna Skoda | Social Services
  • Tavia Baxter Galonski, State Representative | Government
  • Pastor Pamela J. Thomas-Slayton | Religion
  • Jeffrey E. Wilhite | Government   
  • Ramona Hood | Business
  • Paster Randy Baker | Religion
  • Lashonda M. Taylor | Education
  • Kathryn A. Belfance | Law

Two Emeriti Awards were also presented to Pastor Knute Larson and Pastor Ronald J. Fowler for a Lifetime of Distinguished Service.

“The COVID shut down literally occurred days before 2020 program was scheduled, so we had to cancel. We are pleased to recognize the community winners from last year and look forward to resuming our community awards program once we’re able to meet in person next year,” said Greene.

Kent State University has provided a full scholarship since the program’s beginning. The University of Akron had to withdraw from the program in recent years, but the committee hopes they will rejoin in the near future.  Students receiving a partial scholarship may apply it to the institution of their choice.

“There is a correlation between education, wealth and health.  Helping our youth reach their potential is an important ministry of St. Paul’s AME Church, who sponsors the program,” said Greene.  “Many of our awardees have earned their degrees and are now professionals in their fields. In fact, one of our full scholarship winners was valedictorian at Kent State University. This scholarship program makes a critical difference.”

Members of the Harold K. Stubbs committee include: Rev. Carla L. Jackson, Rev. Pamela J. Thomas-Slayton, Keli Greene, Attorney Crystal Burnett, Rev. Gwendolyn Matthews-Oliver, Reneé Greene, and Rev. Stephen Chifunda.

“The committee has done a tremendous job pulling this virtual event together,” said Greene. 

The scholarship program was established to honor Harold K. Stubbs (1941–1989) who was a municipal court judge and politician in Akron. He was known as the city’s first black law director, a municipal court judge and for his many civic activities. In 1991, the courthouse was renamed the Harold K. Stubbs Justice Center in his honor.

The Harold K. Stubbs Scholarship program accepts donations throughout the year and should be sent to:

PO Box 1048
Akron, OH  44309

For more information please contact:

Attorney Charles L. Greene

(330) 714-7120


The Reverend Gwendolyn Matthew-Oliver

(330) 730-8949


The Reverend Stephen Chifunda

(330) 983-9885