Release Date: June 24,2020

Leadership Akron Announces Signature Class 37

AKRON, OH (June 24, 2020) — For over thirty-five years, Leadership Akron has inspired participants to advance their involvement and impact as community leaders. In keeping with that mission, Leadership Akron is thrilled to announce 39 leaders for its 2020/2021 Signature Program.

This class reflects a diverse representation of participants from Greater Akron’s business, government, and nonprofit sectors.

Over the course of the year, Leadership Akron Signature Class 37 will develop a well-rounded perspective of the community to set the stage for further involvement as civic-minded leaders. The class will spend a day each month focused on a sector of the community, in an immersive, experiential atmosphere exposing them to organizations, top decision-makers, and challenges within that sector. Upon graduation, the class will be poised with new knowledge and connections to further empower their service to the community.

Members of the new class are:

Stephen Abdenour
Chief Operating Officer
Cleveland Clinic Akron General

Amanda Barna
Founder and Principal
Center For Marketing and Opinion Research

Anthony Berni
Tax Partner
Ernst & Young LLP

Julie Brandle
Metis Construction Services

Christopher Brewer
Police Captain
Akron Police Department

Nicholas Capotosto
Brouse McDowell, LPA

Katie Carver Reed
Director, Network Partners & Programs
Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank

Bryan Celik
Director of Construction
H.R. Gray

Shara Cocchiola
Executive & Artistic Director
Summit Choral Society

Joni Fitch
Community Engagement Manager
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Richard Fry
Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLC

Dave Griffing
Executive Vice President, Government Affairs
Energy Harbor Corp

Iriel Hopkins
System Director, Community Relations & Diversity
Summa Health

Megan Kleidon
Red Oak Behavioral Health

Zachary Kohl
Executive Director
The Well CDC

Spencer Kowal
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
Akron Children`s Hospital

Demetrius Lambert-Falconer
Chief of Community Engagement
Summit Metro Parks

Daniel Leffler
Senior Manager
Sikich LLP

John Mastrojohn III
Chief Innovation Officer
Western Reserve Care Solutions

Annie McFadden
Chief of Staff/Deputy Mayor for Administration
City of Akron

Steven McGarrity
Executive Director
Community Legal Aid Services, Inc.

Michelle Moran
VP Sales, East

Michael Murphy
Chief Marketing Officer
Cleveland Foundation

David O`Neal
District Chief
Akron Fire Department

Mary Outley-Kelly
Executive Director, Elementary Education
Akron Public Schools

Heather Pariso
Portage Lakes Polar Bear Club
Crystal Clinic Orthopedic Center

Joseph Pentasuglio
Vice President
NMG Aerospace

Lori Pesci
Deputy Director of Public Safety
Summit County Executive`s Office

Erik Reynolds
Director of Building Engineering & Healthcare Design
Prime AE Group

Roger Riddle
Vice President of Marketing & Brand Management
United Way of Summit County

Brandon Scarborough
Executive Director/Founder
Dreams Academy

Patrick Scherer
Scout Executive/CEO
Great Trail Council, BSA

Shirley Smith
Director of Development
Planned Parenthood of Greater Ohio

Colette Taylor
Regional Director - Akron
Boys & Girls Clubs of Northeast Ohio

Jon Taylor
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Beth Teaman
VP, Learning and Leader Development Manager
Huntington National Bank

Brent Thompson
Vice President, Tax Services Group
Meaden & Moore

Julie Weagraff
Vice President, Fund Development
Girl Scouts of North East Ohio

Janis Worley
Finance and Operations Manager
First Congregational Church of Akron