Skip to Main Content

 View All News

Release Date: September 30,2021

Akron Symphony Orchestra Single Tickets on Sale October 1

September 28, 2021, Akron, Ohio — Single tickets for the Akron Symphony Orchestra’s 2021-22 season will go on sale October 1 on the Orchestra’s website at

The season continues the ASO’s commitment to presenting a diverse musical experience to Northeast Ohio, with classics from Beethoven’s Fifth to Handel’s Water Music, jazz-influenced works by Duke Ellington and Aldemaro Romero, innovative works for Korean dancers and a collaboration with Akron-based EarthQuaker Devices, and a spotlight on composers who deserve greater recognition like Florence Price, Julia Perry and William Dawson. 

The Orchestra will also share the concert hall with the community at Akron’s own Gospel Meets Symphony on February 12, and our family friendly Home for the Holidays concert on December 10.

“Our priorities are to connect with people in our community and to give voice to their different perspectives through music,” said Music Director Christopher Wilkins. “We will also highlight local artists through several collaborations, and celebrate the extraordinary musicians of the Orchestra, and the talented members of the Akron Symphony Chorus, Gospel Meets Symphony choir, and our youth orchestras.”

The Classic Series season opens on November 13 with a performance highlighted by Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5, considered by many as one of the most important works of all time. The evening will also include works by DvorĖŒák, Florence Price and Akron’s own Julia Perry.

Additional highlights of the Classic Series include:

Handel’s Water Music, Bach’s Brandenburg Concert No. 1 and a special tuba concerto by composer Clint Needham on January 15
Haydn’s “Earthquake” from The Seven Last Words of Christ, William Dawson’s Negro Folk Symphony and a collaboration with Akron-based EarthQuaker Devices on March 5
Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances, a powerhouse of orchestral virtuosity, along with a visually and aurally amazing Korean Three Drum Dance, on April 2
Haydn’s masterful The Creation, with the Akron Symphony Chorus, on April 30

Single tickets are $60, $40 and $20 for adults, $15 for children. All concerts take place at E.J. Thomas Performing Arts Hall, located on the campus of The University of Akron.