Downtown Construction

Old Main Sewer Separation/Rack 21
Construction on the Old Main Sewer Separation/Rack 21 project is underway. Construction will be complete by September 2017.
Impacted areas include the Northside District and Howard St., Furnace St., Summit St., Ridge St. and Perkins St.
Click here for project timeline.

OCIT Update
NOVEMBER 7, 2016: Update for the three blasting areas of the Ohio Canal Interceptor Tunnel (OCIT) project: Rack 19 Drop Shaft, OCIT-2 Drop shaft, and OCIT-3 Drop Shaft.

- Rack 19 Drop Shaft:  Blasting activities at Rack 19 Drop Shaft will begin on the morning of Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and continue into 2017.  The Rack 19 Drop Shaft is located at the intersection of Market Street and Dart Street adjacent to the Federal Building.  The blasting activities will be conducted Monday through Friday and will only occur between the hours of 9:00 am and 6:00 pm.  We anticipate 1 or 2 blasting events each day, perhaps one mid-morning and one mid-afternoon.

- OCIT-2 Drop Shaft: Blasting activities could begin as early as November 14, 2016 at the OCIT-2 Drop Shaft.  The OCIT-2 Drop Shaft is located at the intersection of Glendale Avenue and Rand Avenue.

- OCIT-3 Drop Shaft:  Blasting activities at the OCIT-3 Drop will probably not take place before the end of the year.  This Drop Shaft is located on West Exchange Street Adjacent to 69 Taps.

As a reminder from my previous communications with you, the Audible warning protocol which will be produced by a siren or air horn immediately before each blast is as follows:

5 Minutes Prior to the Blast - 5 long whistles
3 Minutes Prior to the Blast - 5 short whistles
1 Minutes Prior to the Blast - 1 long whistles

Please click on the construction project title to download a PDF outlining the details. 

Click here for the project timelines.

UPDATES: State Route 8 Bridge Replacement (May 18, 2016)
Towpath Trail (Cycletrak) Update (May 4, 2016)
Main & Broadway map (April 15, 2016)
ODOT Main & Broadway presentation (August 11, 2016)

Click here for the 2016 Downtown Construction Project Map

Akron Waterways Renewed! The Rosie Report: March 7, 2016.

Akron Waterways & Towpath Reroute
Michelle DiFiore, PE, PMP
Interim Environmental Division Mgr
City of Akron-Engineering Bureau
330-375-2495
mdifiore@akronohio.gov

Kenmore Leg
Jim Kinnick, PE
Planning & Engineering Adm.
ODOT-District 4
330-786-4819
james.kinnick@dot.ohio.gov

Cascade Plaza
Travis Capper, PE
Construction Division Manager 
City of Akron-Engineering Bureau
330-375-2699
tcapper@akronohio.gov

Rt. 59 & TIGER
Mike Teodecki
Design Division Manager
City of Akron-Engineering Bureau
330-375-2336
mteodecki@akronohio.gov

UPDATE:        Innerbelt

Cedar-Exchange
Mike Teodecki
Design Division Manager
City of Akron-Engineering Bureau
330-375-2336
mteodecki@akronohio.gov
Civic Block/Landmark
Brad Beckert, PE, PS
Development Engineering Manager
Mayor's Office of Economic Dev.
330-375-2382
bbeckert@akronohio.gov

Old Main Sewer Separation
Rob Solomon
City of Akron-Engineering Bureau,
Environmental Division
330-375-2252
rsolomon@akronohio.gov

UPDATE: Northside connector
Click here for Project Timeline

Main/Broadway Exchange
Lorie Feudner, PE
Planning & Engineering
ODOT-District 4
330-786-4810
lorie.feudner@dot.ohio.gov
Main Broadway Interchange
Mike Simpkins, PE
Project Manager
330-786-4826
Michael.Simkins@dot.ohio.gov
Central Interchange
Gery Noirot, PE
Consultant Administrator
330-786-2270
Gery.Noirot@dot.ohio.gov
Rt. 8 Bridge
Jack Noble
ODOT-District 4
330-786-4831
jack.noble@dot.ohio.gov

James Andrew Hewitt, PE
City Engineer
City of Akron
330-375-2355
jhewitt@akronohio.gov

Chad Root, PE
LPA Administrator
330-786-3162
Chad.Root@dot.ohio.gov
Chris Huff, PE
Real Estate Administrator
330-786-4853
Christopher.Huff@dot.ohio.gov
Sam DeShazior, Deputy Mayor
Economic Development
City of Akron
330-375-2133
sdeshazior@akronohio.gov
Al Biehl, PE
District Deputy Director
330-786-2200
Allen.Biehl@dot.ohio.gov
Steve Rebillot, Planning
Administrator
330-786-4921
Steve.Rebillot@dot.ohio.gov
Kimberly Mondora, PE Preliminary
Engineering Administrator
330-786-4912
Kimberly.Mondora@dot.ohio.gov