The Downtown experience is mixed with old and new as the city has taken great pride in restoring and reusing many of its facilities. New age technology and old world charm are partnered together in some of the most interesting buildings around.
Paul Tell's vision of converting a former Goodrich factory built in 1925, the abandoned Goodrich Building 41, into a modern structure housing the polymer research laboratories and offices for Advanced Elastomer Systems stirred new life into Downtown Akron.
Situated in the heart of Downtown Akron along the historic Ohio & Erie Canal, Canal Park is home to the Akron Aeros, Class AA affiliate of the Cleveland Indians. The designer of this $31 million state-of-the-art facility also designed Progressive Field in Cleveland and Oriole Park at Camden Yards in Baltimore. The Ohio Baseball Hall of Fame and the Ohio Broadcasters Hall of Fame are also part of the stadium's attractions. The location was formerly the site of the Anthony Wayne Hotel, Woolworth's 5 & 10 Lunch Counter, First National Bank of Akron and Prinz Office Supply.
It's been said that you can still smell the oats in this Downtown hotel and mini mall carved out of the former Quaker Oats silos and factory. The former cereal factory is now a mixed-use development, student housing for the University of Akron, a hotel and a collection of unique shops. Reflective of its origins as grain silos, all of the dorm and hotel rooms are round.
This imposing building, built in 1908 an designed in the Second Renaissance Revival style was augmented by an annex in 1924. A restoration returned its interior configuration to the original and exposed the magnificent stained-glass skylight of the central atrium.
Begun as the Academy of Music in 1870, the original structure, designed in the French Second Empire style, was partially destroyed by fire in 1897. Its replacement took shape as an office building. In 1996, builder and developer Tony Troppe undertook its restoration, stripping off the red brick veneer front and exposing the original stone façade enhanced by the lions heads over the main entrance.